A random easy hiking trail @Taipei – Bailuseshan Hiking Trail

When you talked about hiking in Taipei, the very first two places which would come up in your mind would be the Elephant Mountain and the Yangminshan. However, there are other FOUR hiking trails near Nehu (all located near the Dahu Park Station, the brown line on the Metro map). I aimed at going to have picnic at Dahu Park a few days ago, yet the hiking trails here attracted me so I went hiking and watching the sunset up the mountain instead.

Once you got out from the Mrt station (exit 2), you would be exactly outside the Dahu Park. To reach the hiking trail starting point, you may just need to walk along the lake. If the weather was fine enough, you would find a perfect reflection of everything on the surface of lake. ^^ I was lucky that I could enjoy watching this awesome sky mirror on that day.

Here is the entrance, where is right next to a temple. You may also find a statue of a white bird outside to help you to locate yourself.

It was not a challenging trail – mostly about walking up stairs and slopes – and having less stairs than elephant mountain relatively. However, the view there was quite awesome – you could find the park and the lake down the hill. While you were climbing upstairs, you would find a lot of elderly walking up and they will greet you happily. lol

I climbed up the mountain and watched the sunset there. It was a very interesting experience that I watched the sunset up there with a group of strangers who were doing gym – There was a gym place at the top of the mountain where also offered different gym stuff for hikers to use. Hikers there started chitchatting and even sharing food and drinks with strangers LOL. They told me they would get there every day and did exercise – of course this impressed me. I wish I could have motivation to workout everyday too. (okay, I am kind of ashamed of myself now.)

Though it was January, there were a lot of butterflies around and I just knew this mountain was famous for the butterflies when I read the plaque up there. For this hiking trail, it was very safe even you only went there alone or at night. Hmmm yea, Nehu is a pretty cool place, isn’t it? 🙂

 

Leave a comment